About us

Our foundation was established on 13 May 2013 by Jan de Koning and Nadja Houben in Amsterdam. Our founding members are still part of the Advisory Board and support us with their knowledge and experience.













The Board has three members:

Zainab_Malik_2_sm.jpgZainab Malik
Program Manager - Justice Innovation Laws at HiiL





Liliana-pic1.jpgLiliana De Marco
Director External Relations and Partnerships at IDLO - International Development Law Organization



Carin Benninger
Program Director Convention Against Torture Programma at OMCT






The Advisory Board has five members:

IMG_21831.jpegCees Flinterman - chair
Honorary Professor of Human Rights, former member of the Human Rights Committee and CEDAW






Schermafdruk_2019-12-18_14_11_12.pngDavid Vriesendorp
Owner of Eb & Vloed Communicatie








Schermafdruk_2019-12-18_14_06_02.pngJan de Koning
Owner and founder of De Koning Vergouwen Law Firm, Amsterdam







Schermafdruk_2019-12-06_21_24_32.pngTheo van Boven
Emeritus Professor International Law, former Head of the UN Centre for Human Rights and UN Special Rapporteur on Torture





Dewi van de Weerd
Career diplomat, currently Deputy Ambassador of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in Italy










Schermafbeelding_2020-12-16_om_12_50_50.pngNadja Houben
The Director of the Foundation and responsible for daily management.







Three wonderful, talented young people will be working with us during the summer in a program funded by the University of Chicago. Please meet Lainey, Tomi and Hayley:


Hayley, working on our research & outreach project
The Long Haul

IMG_3121.jpgLainey, working on creative contributions in the m/f/x Storytelling & Impact Workshops Program

, working on our Multi-media human rights project in Myanmar

Equally talented and motivated is our intern from the University College Amsterdam who will be working alongside our director. Please meet Costanza